Facebook Ticker & Privacy

Many people are expressing concern about Facebook’s new ticker (some people are affectionately dubbing it the sidebar from hell, but to each his/her own).  The concern people have is about privacy.  They are concerned that they are seeing what people are posting on other people’s pages that are not their friends, and therefore are concerned what is going on the ticker that people can see from people that post on  your own profile.  I definitely understand the concern, but really nothing has changed, it’s just more in your face now.

Say you were to go to that person’s profile (the person that your friend just posted something on their wall).  If you click on their wall, and they don’t have their privacy settings to hide their wall, then you would have seen that post whether you were their friend already or not.  So it’s no less hidden than it has been in the past, it’s just now displaying it on your homepage as opposed to you having to browse to the person’s page.

So now that we’ve got the privacy issue cleared up, and you want to check and see if your privacy settings are such that when your friends post on your wall, THEIR friends don’t see it…

1. Click on the down arrow next to Home in the top right corner of the page.


2. Click on Privacy Settings3. Click the “edit settings” link next to “How You Connect”4. Check the “Who can see wall posts by others” setting, and if it says “Friends” or “Only Me”Now you are halfway there.  Next within the privacy settings you can click the link to “edit your profile”.  Here you can customize exactly what the public can see about your profile.  I do a lot of sweepstakes, so I don’t like other people to see me “like” various pages every day, especially since usually I am only liking the page to enter the sweepstakes.  So I’ve hidden the pages I like from everyone but myself.  So even my friends can’t see “Sarah likes Technology for Mommies”.  I would just go through your settings in here and figure out exactly what you are OK with having public, what you want to share with your friends, and maybe even some things that you only want to see yourself (like my page “likes”).

The last thing to check is when you are actually posting a status update.  There is a little option right next to the “post” button where you can specify who can see the individual post.  You can select your lists, just friends, or make the update public.

If you don’t want to see the ticker, when you use lists for your news feed like I explained yesterday, the ticker is actually not even on the page.  It’s only on the home page where you see the standard News Feed.

Like I said, I’m definitely happy with the new changes, and apparently there are some more MAJOR changes in the works.  I don’t understand the point of the ticker though, as it’s just a News Feed, NEXT TO my News Feed?  Why do I need two on the same page again?

For a better explanation of why exactly you are seeing your friends posting on status updates of people you are not friends with in the ticker, check out my video about the Privacy Settings of the Ticker…

 

Sarah Kimmel

Sarah Kimmel

Sarah Kimmel is bringing you the tech news and tips that you want to hear! Find out more on .
Sarah Kimmel
Sarah Kimmel
Sarah Kimmel
Sarah Kimmel
Follow Me on Pinterest
Share This

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>